Quadrocopter Progress

Earlier this year in December I saw a bunch of videos of this new type of RC flying machine called a Quadrocopter. After some research I decided that I could build one for significantly less than the price of a commercial one. I was determined to build one of these. After many many more hours of research I found the code to be the most difficult part because of all the math that I haven’t learned yet. This project is finally starting to come together and I have most of the components needed to build it. This post will document my progress in building my very own quadrocopter.

Here is what I have so far:

I have 4 high power brushless outrunner motors with special Gaui quadrocopter propellers attached. I am using prop savers to attach the props. In the middle I have a 2200mAh 3S LiPo battery and an Arduino with a Sparkfun Razor 6DOF IMU. Also, not pictured, I have 4 18A ESCs to control the motors. The motors, ESCs, and battery + charger cost me about $80 with shipping directly from China. I already had the Arduino, but that normally costs $30. The IMU cost $60, which may seem like a lot, but it should give me an exact position reading of roll, pitch, and yaw.

Here’s a video of me testing one of the motors with a ccw rotation propeller attached: http://www.flickr.com/photos/49325300@N07/5548752629/in/photostream/

These motors are extremely powerful. This single motor was able to lift the heavy vise enough to let it move from vibrations. And that was only at half speed! Just think what four of these will be like at full speed! This will probably be able to lift 5 pounds (made up statistic alert!) extra!

Leave a Reply

